Green Rice with Ginger Salmon + Makdous

I have a perfectly good explanation for why I’m not posting many recipes this week. Here it is…

D7K_4166

D7K_4168

That is Makdous. I know it looks totally weird but it’s so unbelievably delicious. It’s basically stuffed baby eggplants with nuts and garlic then pickled for a few days in vegetable oil. When I visit my family in Florida I probably consume more Makdous than anything else. The pickling process allows the eggplant to get super soft and a little tart and super garlicy. It’s quite a process to make so I’ve actually never made it myself. My grandmother makes it the best, anyway. I was jumping for joy when my mom pulled out a jar from her suitcase. Hallelujah! It’s Lebanese and I usually eat it wrapped in a pita with Labne, tomato and fresh parsley. Throw in some scallions and olives and I won’t turn it away.

Makdous obsession aside, I did have to make some real food because Eva can’t eat it yet since babies and nuts don’t mix. The fabulous Jessica posted this recipe on her blog, How Sweet It Is, which I made immediately. I pretty much do that with all of her recipes. And there’s no surprise that it was amazing. I pretty much made the same recipe but with leftover rice and minus the shelled edemame.

D7K_4175

I loaded it up with tangy Manchego cheese. So delicious.

D7K_4179

Eva is a huge salmon lover like her mama so we shared this ginger salmon.

Ginger Salmon
Makes 1- 4oz filet

1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
salt & pepper to taste
1 tsp olive oil

Mix everything together and marinate the salmon for 30 minutes at room temperature. Bake at 400 for 10 – 15 minutes.

D7K_4193Eva has a pretty fancy pallet and I like it that way.

One thought on “Green Rice with Ginger Salmon + Makdous

  1. Pingback: Life Lately | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

