Crepes Two Ways

Pierre and I celebrated 6 years of marriage yesterday! I can’t believe how quickly the time has passed.

The Reception 051

He wanted something new and fun for breakfast and I was craving Huevos Rancheros so I combined the two and made crepes! It was my first time attempting crepes and I was a little hesitant but it was really easy! I followed this recipe, halved it and made 5 crepes. It was really fun to eat and so delicious.

D7K_7312

Huevos Ranchero Crepe
Makes 4 crepes

4 eggs, cooked to your liking
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 avocado, thinly sliced
2 tbsp your favorite salsa
1/2 cup canned black beans, drained & rinsed
1/4 cup onion, thinly sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 zucchini, chopped small
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 tsp ground Chipotle powder (or cayenne pepper)
4 crepes, warm
salt & pepper to taste
cooking spray

Spray a light coat of cooking spray on a skillet over medium high heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook until they are fragrant. Add the black beans, zucchini and spices and cook for a few more minutes, turn off the heat.

In a crepe, layer cheese, black bean mixture, egg, salsa and avocado. Fresh chopped cilantro would MAKE this but I was out, of course.

D7K_7314

Another breafast option: Peanut Butter Banana Crepes. If you know me you know I don’t like bananas. This crepe was strictly for Pierre. Creamy peanut butter, sliced banana, honey and cinnamon. It smelled great :). 

D7K_7315

Leave a comment